Wolfgang Müller-Lierheim

Dr. Wolfgang G.K. Müller-Lierheim


Wolfgang G.K. Müller-Lierheim, PhD, is a scientist and entrepreneur. He studied physics and medicine at the Technical University Munich and the University Regensburg, and received his doctorate in physics (Dr. rer. nat.) in 1977. In 1980 he founded the first commercial German laboratory offering in vitro biological testing, and in 1994 established one of the first privately owned Notified Bodies accredited by the European Commission for the certification of medical device manufacturers and granting the CE mark.

For 17 years Wolfgang contributed to global harmonization as Convener of the ISO working group on contact lenses, and as Convener of the ISO working group ‘Mutagenicity, Carcinogenicity and Reproductive Toxicity of Medical Devices’, and finally coordinated as Chairman of the International Standards Organization’s Technical Committee ISO/TC 194 the development of international standards on biological and clinical testing and evaluation of medical devices. During the 1990s Wolfgang also served as expert in several medical device working groups of the European Commission.

Based on extensive experience gained from the testing of hyaluronan and hyaluronan based products Wolfgang developed in cooperation with Endre A. Balazs eye drops containing very high molecular weight hyaluronan (hylan A). For the manufacture and marketing of these eye drops he founded in 1999 the company i.com medical GmbH based in Munich/Germany. Under Wolfgang’s direction as CEO this company is performing extensive preclinical and clinical research, which resulted in numerous international patents.

In 2017 Wolfgang launched the CORONIS FOUNDATION, and since then acts as its President. This non­profit, charitable foundation supports projects for the benefit of patients with a particular focus on ocular diseases. The foundation supports scientific excellence by organizing workshops on subjects with unmet needs, and by biennially sponsoring the CORONIS OCULAR SURFACE SYMPOSIUM.

Back to previous page